Skip to content

Indian National Science Academy

Indian National Science Academy, known as INSA, is an autonomous institution under the Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, situated in the national capital of Delhi. The origins of the Indian National Science Academy can be traced back to the founding of the National Institute of Sciences in India (NISI) in the year 1935 in modern-day Kolkata. 

The basic objective was and is to promote, enhance and safeguard the interests of the sciences and the scientific community alike. The NISI was recognized as a Premier National Scientific Society by the Government of India. It moved to its present place in Delhi in the year 1951. The GOI’s decision in 1968 mandated that the NISI represent India in all the international science forums. The NISI was renamed in 1970 to what we know today – the Indian National Science Academy (INSA). The INSA campus is situated at the Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg which came into being during 1951 with a major expansion during the late ‘80s to the mid-’90s. Today the main INSA building stands at the same location as a seven-storied Golden Jubilee Building, which was completed in 1996. It plays a significant role in identifying, promoting, and rewarding excellence in scientific research

Do you know what else promotes excellence in science and research? Teachmint. It has the largest repository of resources for all subjects, and it is available completely for free! Click here to access it right now! 

Teachmint offers scalable and customizable lms portal for institutes. We give a modern touch to education and help students learn better through our offerings like admission management system.

Introducing the World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology
World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology