UGC or the University Grants Commission is a statutory body established by the Indian government in the year 1953, in conformity with the UGC Act 1956. The statutory organization falls under the ministry of the education department.  The objective of University Grants Commission is to determine, coordinate, and maintain the standards of the teaching, examinations, and research pertaining to higher education. 

The University Grants Commission provides accreditation to higher educational institutions and universities in India along with the provision of funds. The headquarters are in Delhi, and it has six regional offices in Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati, and Bangalore. 

Before the University Grants Commission became the statutory body, its role was to administer the functions of three central universities of Aligarh, Banaras, and Delhi. After 1947, it began to cover all the Indian universities. 

There are four types of universities that are ruled by the University Grants Commission. These are 

  1. Central universities 
  2. State universities 
  3. Deemed universities 
  4. Private universities 

The National Testing Agency (NTA) conducts NET exams to appoint teachers in colleges and universities. It is also known as University Grants Commission-NET. This exam is mandatory to qualify for teaching at graduation and post-graduation levels. 

It has also introduced various awards and accolades for promoting excellence in teaching and research. The awards are as follows-

  1. UGC Hari Om Ashram Trust Awards
  2. UGC Swami Pranavananda Saraswati National Awards
  3. UGC National Veda Vyas Sanskrit Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *