Skip to content

SLET Eligibility

About SLET Exam

Conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA) in the interest of the University Grants Commission (UGC), the State Level Eligibility Test or SLET is an aptitude test to determine the skills and abilities of applicants for colleges and universities’ Lectureship. The SLET exam ensures that applicants meet the requirements for Teaching/Research roles in Indian colleges and universities. 

Understand and digitize school operations with Teachmint and its features like the homework app for efficient school management.

The primary objective of this exam is to recruit eligible candidates for Assistant Professor positions for subjects such as Humanities, Social Science, and Economics. Earlier, the SET or SLET exam was conducted in English in various states across India and some universities/colleges.

Many concerns regarding SLET’s inability to represent Regional subjects at the national level came forward earlier. Also, the conducting body received requests to allow the applicants to appear for the SLET exam in their mother tongue. 

Read the evaluation methodologies and outcomes. Also, read everything about the Teachers’ Eligibility Test.

Therefore, State Governments and Union Territories were given the freedom to organize separate SLET exams to test applicants’ eligibility for a Lectureship at the state level. Because of this, the concept of SLET or SET at the state level originated. The exam is now conducted both in English and Regional languages.

SLET Eligibility Criteria

All applicants need to understand and fulfill the SLET eligibility criteria before applying for the test to avoid rejection.

  • The applicants must have a Master’s degree from any university or institution recognized by the Govt. of India. 
  • Applicants must be of Indian nationality to be eligible for applying for the Assistant Professor role. Also, candidates must have all appropriate documents in support of their domicile.
  • There is no age limit in the SLET exam.
  • There is no limit on the number of attempts.

This was the gist of the SLET eligibility criteria. To offer a better understanding of the eligibility criteria of the SLET exam, we’ve provided a detailed overview of the SLET eligibility criteria.

Educational Qualification

  • To fulfill the SLET eligibility, the applicants must possess a Master’s degree with a minimum of 55% of marks from any university recognized by the Government.
  • Applicants falling under the OBC, SC, ST, PWD must have completed Master’s with a minimum of 50% marks.
  • Applicants who have received a Ph.D. degree and have finished the Master’s level examination by 19th September 1991 (regardless of the date of announcement of result) will receive a relaxation of 5% in aggregate marks.
  • Candidates who have passed or are appearing for the final year exams of their Master’s degree and are awaiting the final result can also apply for the SLET exam.


  • According to the SLET eligibility criteria, all the candidates appearing for the SLET exam must be Indian citizens.
  • The details/information provided during the application must be true as the authority carefully vets all the applications.
  • Applicants must possess reliable ID proof (deemed authentic by the Government of India) during the verification process.

Work Experience

  • According to the latest rules and regulations laid by the UGC, the SLET eligibility does not necessitate having any prior work experience.
  • Candidates with or without any prior experience can appear for this exam only if they fulfill other SLET eligibility criteria stated above.

List of States Conducting SLET 

As mentioned earlier, the states of India were given a choice to conduct their own SLET exams. The rules and regulations of the SLET exam of various states may differ slightly from each other. At present, the SLET exam is conducted in the states mentioned below:

  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Jammu & Kashmir
  • Rajasthan
  • Maharashtra & Goa
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • West Bengal
  • NE-SLET (all North Eastern states and Sikkim)
  • Karnataka 

The University Grants Commission forms an Accreditation Committee at regular intervals to measure the performance of the states organizing the SLET/SET exam. The Commission takes any action or decision it deems necessary about any state based on the Committee’s report.

All interested applicants need to have a good understanding of the SLET eligibility criteria before applying for the exam. In case an applicant fails to fulfill the SLET eligibility criteria, their application will be rejected immediately. Therefore, it is advised to read the eligibility criteria carefully before applying for the SLET exam.

Know more about LMS for schools and how it can help in seamless school operations management. 

Introducing the World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology
World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology