Skip to content

NQAS Full Form

The National Quality Assurance Standards (NQAS) are a set of guidelines established in India to improve the quality of care provided in public healthcare facilities. Launched in 2013, NQAS Full Form plays a vital role in ensuring that patients receive safe, effective, and patient-centered care.

What is NQAS?

NQAS stands for National Quality Assurance Standards. These standards outline the specific requirements that public health facilities, such as district hospitals, community health centers (CHCs), primary health centers (PHCs), and urban PHCs, must meet to ensure quality care.

Why are NQAS Important?

NQAS serves several critical purposes:

  • Improved Quality of Care: NQAS provides a framework for public health facilities to assess their own performance and identify areas for improvement. This leads to better patient outcomes and a more positive healthcare experience.
  • Standardization: NQAS ensures consistency in the quality of care provided across different public health facilities. This is particularly important in a vast country like India, where healthcare access can vary depending on location.
  • Patient Rights: NQAS emphasizes patient rights and ensures that patients are treated with respect and dignity.
  • Global Benchmarks: NQAS are developed keeping in mind global best practices, ensuring Indian public health facilities meet international standards for quality care.
NQAS Full Form
NQAS Full Form

How Does NQAS Work?

NQAS are categorized under eight key areas of concern:

  • Service Provision
  • Patient Rights
  • Inputs (like equipment and medication)
  • Support Services (like sanitation and hygiene)
  • Clinical Care
  • Infection Control
  • Quality Management
  • Outcome

Public health facilities can use NQAS to self-assess their performance and identify areas where they fall short. Additionally, facilities can undergo a formal NQAS certification process, which involves an external assessment by qualified professionals.

Benefits of NQAS Certification

NQAS certification signifies a public health facility’s commitment to providing quality care. Benefits of certification include:

  • Improved public image and increased patient trust
  • Identification of areas for improvement and access to technical support
  • Potential for increased funding and resources


The National Quality Assurance Standards (NQAS) are a valuable tool for improving the quality of care provided in public health facilities across India. By adhering to NQAS guidelines and pursuing certification, public health facilities can ensure that they are delivering the best possible care to their patients.

Learn more about Teachmint plans here.

Introducing the World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology
World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology