Skip to content

National Award to Teachers

National Award to Teachers is a national teacher recognition program given to teachers by the President of India on the 5th of September every year which is celebrated as Teacher’s Day. To give public recognition to hard-working teachers that work in primary, middle, and secondary schools in India. A similar recognition program for university teachers was also instituted in 2015 in the form of Inspired Teacher recognition. Starting in 1958, the National Award is 366 awards out of which 20 are reserved for Sanskrit, Persian and Arabic teachers. Each State and Union Territory or organization has an earmarked quota based on the number of teachers. The Scheme also covers teachers of the schools affiliated to CBSE including teachers of independent affiliated schools situated abroad, ICSCE, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sanghatan, NVS,  Sainik School, CTSA, and schools run by the Atomic Energy Education Society.

From the award year 2001, there have been 33 Special Awards have been earmarked to teachers promoting integrated inclusive education in schools and promoting the education of children with disabilities in regular schools by States/UTs and other school systems.

The teachers of the following categories will also be considered for the award:

  • Teachers with disabilities working in regular schools.
  • Special teachers or trained general teachers who may have done outstanding work for Inclusive Education.

Teachmint has a large collection of learning resources that are available for anyone to download, ranging from highly detailed notes and lecture videos to ready-made tests and homework assignments. Click here to gain access to this ever-expanding library of resources right away!

Introducing the World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology
World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology