Skip to content

CTET – All You Need To Know

With the boom in technology and awareness of education, the demand for teachers has increased. Due to this, many of us are keen to explore the teaching field and know about various teachers’ eligibility tests. So, in this article, we will talk about CTET. It is an eligibility test for teachers. 

What is CTET?

CTET is used as an abbreviation for the Central Teacher Eligibility Test. It is the test conducted in India by CBSE (Central Board Of Secondary Education). It is a national-level exam. It tests whether a candidate is eligible or not for the appointment as a teacher. This test is conducted twice a year for candidates seeking a job as a teacher to teach classes from one to eight.

After clearing the test, one can sit in job interviews to become a teacher in government schools. However, this test is observed as one of the toughest exams among other teacher exams, which is why the qualification rate of this test is very low. Consider yourself lucky if you will pass the exam with a good percentage as you will be part of a few thousand students. Wondering why this exam is so important to become a teacher?

If you get the CTET certificate, you will be eligible for the appointment as a teacher. With this certificate in your hands, you will be eligible to become a government teacher. In addition, candidates can apply for the vacancies announced by different schools.

CTET Highlights

  • Exam Name: Central Teacher Eligibility Test
  • Conducting body: CBSE
  • Frequency of exam: Twice a year
  • Test level: National level exam
  • Mode of Exam: Computer Based Test- Online
  • Eligibility: 45% marks in 12th for primary stage and graduation with 45% marks along with 50% marks in 12th for Elementary teacher
  • Exam fees: INR 1000 for UR and OBC; INR 500 for ST / SC / PwD
  • Duration of exam: 150 minutes
  • No. of papers: Two
  • Total marks of each paper: 150 marks each
  • Total questions: 150 MCQ’s
  • Negative marking: No
  • Languages used in the exam: English and Hindi

CTET Exam Pattern

No aspirant can prepare for the exam without knowing the exam pattern. This is why each of you needs to know the exam pattern

CTET exam includes two papers: Paper I and Paper II. Paper I is for the candidates who want to teach classes one to five, and Paper II is for the candidates who want to teach classes six to eight. However, candidates seeking jobs as teachers for classes one to eight have to take both papers. 

Exam Pattern of Paper I 

Paper I is divided into five sections; you have to attempt all five sections to get a good score.

The five sections of this paper are mentioned below:

  1. Child Development and Pedagogy
  2. Language I (compulsory) 
  3. Language II (compulsory) 
  4. Mathematics 
  5. Environmental Studies

Each section holds 30 marks with 30 questions. 

Exam Pattern of Paper-II

Paper II is divided into four sections as follows:

  1. Child Development and Pedagogy
  2. Language I (compulsory) 
  3. Language II (compulsory) 
  4. Social Studies & Social Science/Mathematics & Science. 

In this paper, the candidate has to choose between Mathematics & Science and Social Studies & Social Science. 

The first three sections are of 30 marks with 30 questions each, whereas the fourth section has 60 marks with 60 questions, making a total of 150 marks. There is no negative marking.


Now you know what is CTET, its eligibility criteria and examination pattern. One must prepare wholeheartedly for the CTET exam as it is a highly competitive exam and requires utmost dedication. Prepare well for the upcoming CTET exam.

Teachmint offers scalable solution to educational institutions to help them grow. With our tools like fee management system, institutes can reduce the workload of their staff. To know more about our offerings like the learning management system, visit our website.

Introducing the World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology
World's First AI-Enabled Connected Classroom Technology